Texas & Neighbors Regional Art Exhibition 1985 - 2019
Texas & Neighbors Regional Art Exhibition1985 - 2019



May 12 – June 9, 2018

The Reception & Awards Ceremony for the 33rd Texas & Neighbors Regional Art Exhibition was held on Sunday, May 20, 2018 at the Irving Arts Center.


Best of Show was awarded to artist Amy Werntz for her oil “Ella”. The IAC Award of Excellence went to Ken MacFarlane for “More BS!”, a work in oil. $9,o00 in cash was awarded in five media categories to 20 artists. For a full list of awards see below.

Exhibit catalog – awards: 2018TXNawards

For reception photos of awards, artists, celebrants, and Chocolate Rose floral arrangements see the IAA Photo Album (coming soon).


The exhibit was juried by Lyle Novinski and represents works from regional artists residing in Texas and the four surrounding states. It continues at the Irving Arts Center through June 9, 2018.


Irving Arts Center, 3333 N. MacArthur Blvd., Irving TX 75062

Gallery hours: Mon, Tues, Wed and Fri: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Thursday: 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.; Saturday: 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Sunday: 1:00-5:00 p.m.





View the annual floral interpretations of paintings by the Chocolate Rose!  This beautiful floral tribute is only on display May 20 – 26. Free guided gallery tours are offered every Thursday at 6:30 p.m. and every Sunday at 2:30 p.m. Featured guest speaker is Ted Bruehl, Design Manager for the Chocolate Rose, at the gallery talk on Thursday, May 24 (for the 6:30 p.m. tour.)










Best of Show:
Amy Werntz “Ella” oil


IAC Award of Excellence:
Ken MacFarlane “More BS!” oil


IAA Award of Excellence:
Sarah Jentsch "The Martrydom of Rotten Fruit" lithograph





  1. Erika Pochybova “Portrait of @”
  2. Ernie Fournet “Mama et ‘Tite FIlle”

  3. Emily deLarios “Plum Dumb”

  4. Honorable Mention: Steve Danner
    “Lord of the Flies”





  1. Denny Doran “Portrait of Diana Lynn Watson”

  2. Tanja Gant, CPSA, CPX “Camille”

  3. Ruben Contreras “Jason”

  4. Honorable Mention: Russ Mackensen
    “A Cherry on Top”


Water Media:



  1. Soon Warren “Cosmos in Marbles”

  2. Robert Cook “Royal St. Strole”

  3. Honorable Mention: Muriel Mimura
    “Severo – San Miguel de Allende 2”





  1. Jim Hutchinson “Discussion In the Street”

  2. Ty Milner “Top Hat and Corset in Black and White”

  3. Hebe Brooks “Red Silk Luxury”

  4. Honorable Mention: Albert Handell
    “Growth in Silver”


Mixed Media:



  1. Andrew DeCaen “Opera di Cucina III”

  2. Juergen Strunck “CCK-12”

  3. Renate Kasper “Enduring the Countdown”
  4. Honorable Mention: Gisa Elwazir
    “Protecting the Land”